Professionalism Competency Definition

A commitment to the profession as well as the flexibility to balance all aspects of personal and professional life in order to work effectively.

Target: County Agents
Content: Learn the good, the bad, and the ugly when navigating through the promotion document. Our presenters will share examples, allow you to compare and contrast promotion documents, and will share information to help you make your promotion document better. 
Competency Category(s): Professionalism
Format: Online
Location: Online
Capacity: 100
Contact(s): Julie Robinson, jrobinson@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2082

logo for Mental Health First AidTarget: County Agents, State Faculty, Supervisors
Content: This is a one-day training for agents and other staff to be equipped to recognize and respond in mental health crisis situations and as a complement to the Farm Stress program. Just as CPR helps you assist an individual having a heart attack, Mental Health First Aid helps you assist someone experiencing a mental health or substance use-related crisis. In this 8-hour course, you learn risk factors and warning signs for mental health and addiction concerns, strategies for how to help someone in both crisis and non-crisis situations, and where to turn for help. This course gives people the skills to help someone who is developing a mental health problem or experiencing a mental health crisis. The evidence behind the program demonstrates that it does build mental health literacy, helping the public identify, understand, and respond to signs of mental illness.
Competency Category(s): 
Professionalism
Format: Classroom
Date(s): July 18, 2019 (Enrollment closes 7/11/19)
Time: 9:00am - 4:00pm
Location:
 Rice Research Center - Stuttgart
Capacity: 35
Contact(s): 
Brittney Schrick, bschrick@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2202, Rebecca Simon, rsimon@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2364

Image of First Aid SignTarget: All Employees
Content: Participants will learn basic first aid skills for the treatment of the most common medical/trauma conditions, CPR for adults, basic resuscitation equipment including various models of AED's and the relief of foreign-body airway obstructions.
Competency Category(s): Professionalism
Format: Classroom
Date(s): October 28, 2019 (Enrollment closes 10/24/19)
Time: 8:30am-12:30pm
Location: Little Rock State Office
Capacity: 40 
Contact(s): Nytalya Salter, nsalter@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2017 

Image of First Aid SignTarget: All Employees
Content: Participants will learn basic first aid skills for the treatment of the most common medical/trauma conditions, CPR for adults, basic resuscitation equipment including various models of AED's and the relief of foreign-body airway obstructions.
Competency Category(s): Professionalism
Format: Classroom
Date(s): October 28, 2019 (Enrollment closes 10/24/19)
Time: 12:30pm-4:30ppm
Location: Little Rock State Office
Capacity: 40 
Contact(s): Nytalya Salter, nsalter@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2017 

Supervisor School (FY20)

Self enrollment

role of the supervisor setting goals, demonstrating effective behaviors, decision-making, managing change, time management, communication skills, effective meeting skills, motivation, delegation, trainingTarget: County Staff Chairs, Supervisors
Content: This interactive course will help new supervisors at the state and county level develop their skills in effectively managing employees. Training will address the human aspects of personnel management, as well as organizational policies.
Competency Category(s): 
Professionalism, Communication, Organizational Knowledge
Format: Classroom
Date(s): February 4-5, 2020 (Enrollment closes 1/17/20)
Time: February 4 - 10:00am - 5:00pm, February 5 - 8:00am - 2:00pm
Location:
 Arkansas 4-H Center
Capacity: 100
Contact(s): 
Stacey McCullough, smccullough@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2078; Donna Rothberg, drothberg@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2020; Beth Phelps, bphelps@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2219; Sharon Reynolds, sreynolds@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2016; Jerry Clemons, jclemons@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2024; Vic Ford, vford@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2001; Martha Ray Sartor, msartor@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2385

picture of people listening to speaker

The date and location of the 2020 Support Staff Conference will be April 30-May 1, 2020 at the Vines 4-H Center. Enrollment will be open February 1, 2020.

Target: Secretarial/Clerical Support Staff, State Support Services Staff
Content: The Support Staff Conference provides training and mentoring opportunities across a range of topical areas including: financial management, administrative procedures, civil rights/accountability, human resource support protocols, technology applications/programs, communication skills, time management, and customer service. In addition, conference attendees receive administrative updates, current benefits information, information specific to the support of Extension educational programming, and the ability to network. 
Competency Category(s): Professionalism
Format: Classroom
Date(s): April 30-May 1, 2020 (Enrollment closes 4/13/20)  Enrollment will be open February 1, 2020.
Time: April 30- 8:00am - 4:30pm; May 1 - 8:00am - 1:00pm
Location: C. A. Vines 4-H Center, Ferndale, AR
Capacity: 160
Contact(s): Karen Ballard, kballard@uaex.edu, (501)671-2218; Lynda Wilson, lwilson@uaex.edu, (501) 671-2309